It’s my last week of blogging. I know, I’m as sad as you are… I thought a great way to end my time here would be to feature the three cities of Texas that mean the most to me. Dallas, where I was raised, College Station, where I did most of my “growing up”, and San Antonio, where I will build my future.

So here we go, on to Dallas! My brother sent me this link (for background, he’s 15, a freshman in high school, and the cutest lil’ computer nerd) and at first I blew it off. But when I took a second look, it’s actually pretty funny.

This past Saturday, emergency sirens all across Dallas started blaring early in the morning. But was there intense weather? Nope, computer hackers.

Rocky Vaz, director of Dallas’ Office of Emergency Management, said that all 156 of the city’s sirens were activated more than a dozen times.

Officials don’t know who was responsible for the hacking, but Vaz said “with a good deal of confidence that this was someone outside our system” and in the Dallas area.

This is an unprecedented issue in Dallas. It’s a safe city, with no history of computer hacking that I know of. “Identifying who sounded the sirens will be like ‘finding a needle in a haystack.'” Mayor Mike Rawlings said. “This is yet another serious example of the need for us to upgrade and better safeguard our city’s technology infrastructure.”

Wired.com weighed in on the issue saying the same thing as Mayor Rawlings, that the hackers “managed to poignantly (if unintentionally) raise awareness about the threat of infrastructure insecurity.”

What a crazy story and isn’t it refreshing to read a story about hackers that DOESN’T. INVOLVE. RUSSIA?!

Photo: CBS Sacramento

Leave a Reply

